LeBron James and His Top-Secret Trainer, Mike Mancias (#349)

LeBron James and His Top-Secret Trainer, Mike Mancias (#349)

“I try to put myself in a mental state of, ‘How do I learn from that defeat? How do I learn from that loss?’” — LeBron James “Recovery never stops.” — Mike Mancias This episode represents the first time that LeBron James has been interviewed alongside his very below-the-radar, some might say top-secret, athletic trainer …

The Life Lessons and Success Habits of Four Presidents — Doris Kearns Goodwin (#335)

The Life Lessons and Success Habits of Four Presidents — Doris Kearns Goodwin (#335)

“If we think this is the worst of times, history will tell you, no, we’ve had more turbulent times before, and we got through them when you had the right leader fitted for the right time.”  — Doris Kearns Goodwin Doris Kearns Goodwin (@DorisKGoodwin) is a biographer, historian, and political commentator who found her curiosity about …

Karlie Kloss – Entrepreneur and Supermodel (#307)

Karlie Kloss – Entrepreneur and Supermodel (#307)

“Everybody has the opportunity to build something.” – Karlie Kloss Karlie Kloss (IG: @karliekloss) is an entrepreneur and supermodel who was discovered at a local charity fashion show at age 13 and has been modeling professionally ever since. Karlie has walked for and starred in campaigns for top designers including Calvin Klein, Oscar de la …

Bob Metcalfe — The Man (and Lessons) Behind Ethernet, Metcalfe's Law, and More (#297)

Bob Metcalfe — The Man (and Lessons) Behind Ethernet, Metcalfe's Law, and More (#297)

“Never fire anybody alone.” -Bob Metcalfe Bob Metcalfe (@BobMetcalfe) is an MIT-Harvard-trained engineer-entrepreneur who became an Internet pioneer in 1970, invented Ethernet in 1973, and founded 3Com Corporation in 1979. About 1.2B Ethernet ports were shipped last year — 400M wired and 800M wireless (Wi-Fi). 3Com went public in 1984, peaked at $5.7B in annual …

Best Investments, Bad Advice to Avoid, and Other Life Lessons (#294)

Best Investments, Bad Advice to Avoid, and Other Life Lessons (#294)

“The world always makes sense; we just don’t understand it.” -Adam Robinson This episode sets a new record with five guests — each considered among the best in their field. It features Adam Robinson (@IAmAdamRobinson), Debbie Millman (@debbiemillman), Neil Strauss (@neilstrauss), Scott Belsky (@scottbelsky), and Veronica Belmont (@Veronica). This roundtable conversation discusses best investments, favorite failures, and bad advice …

Catherine Hoke — The Master of Second Chances (#293)

Catherine Hoke — The Master of Second Chances (#293)

“You are not your past.” – Catherine Hoke Catherine Hoke (@catherine_hoke) is the founder of the non-profit Defy Ventures. Defy’s vision is to end mass incarceration by using entrepreneurship as a tool to transform legacies and human potential. Cat was named a #MakeTechHuman Agent of Change by WIRED and Nokia for being one of 17 Global Influencers …

Lessons and Warnings From Successful Risk Takers (#292)

Lessons and Warnings From Successful Risk Takers (#292)

“Don’t let someone knock you off your course after you’ve put in all the work.” – Soman Chainani This is a special episode of the podcast, which features three guests: author Soman Chainani (@SomanChainani), author Susan Cain (@susancain), and East Rock Capital co-founder and investor Graham Duncan. All three are featured in my latest book, Tribe …